May 30, 2005



Announcement of Appointment of Outside Directors

During a meeting held on May 30, 2005, the Board of Directors resolved to appoint the following two outside directors, subject to the approval of the General Meeting of Shareholders scheduled for June 29, 2005. The purpose of these appointments is to strengthen the corporate governance.

1. Outside director candidates

Toru Toyoshima (Currently: Chairman, World Trade Center Tokyo, Inc.)

Robert A. Mundell (Currently: Professor of Economics, Columbia University, USA)

(Reference) Outside director candidate

Name	Toru Toyoshima			
Date of birth	Octobe	r 19, 1930		
Profile	1953	April	Join the Ministry of International Trade and Industry	
	1981	June	Director, Machinery and Information Industries Bureau, MITI	
	1982	October	Director General, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy	
	1988	June	Executive Vice President, Cosmo Oil Co., Ltd.	
	1993	July	Chairman, Japan External Trade Organization	
	1998	June	Chairman, Japan Trade and Investment Insurance Organization	
			(current position)	
	1998	November	President, The Asian Club Foundation (current position)	
	1999	May	Chairman, World Trade Center Tokyo, Inc.	
			(current position)	

Name	Robert A. Mundell				
Date of birth	Octobe	October 24, 1932			
Profile	1974	September	Professor of Economics, Columbia University (USA) (current position)		
	1999	December	Nobel Prize in economic Sciences		

2. Proposed Organization after General Meeting of Shareholders

In addition to the changes in the Board of Directors announced at the time that final accounts were published on May 9, 2005, the following organization, including the two new outside directors described above, will be effective after the General Meeting of Shareholders.

President Tsuyoshi Kikukawa

Director Atsushi Yusa

Director Masaaki Terada

Director Koji Miyata

Director Isao Takahashi

Director Masaharu Okubo

Director Hideo Yamada

Director Hiroyuki Furihata

Director Kazuhisa Yanagisawa (New director) Director Haruhito Morishima (New director) Director Masataka Suzuki (New director) Director Tatsuo Nagasaki (New director) Outside director Toru Toyoshima (New director) Outside director Robert A. Mundell (New director)

Full-time auditor Tadao Imai

Full-time auditor Tadahiko Amemiya
Auditor Makoto Shimada
Auditor Yasuo Nakamura

Senior Executive Managing Officer(*) Masaaki Terada Masaharu Okubo Executive Managing Officer(*) Executive Managing Officer(*) Hideo Yamada Executive Managing Officer(*) Hiroyuki Furihata Executive Managing Officer(*) Kazuhisa Yanagisawa Executive Managing Officer(*) Haruhito Morishima Executive Managing Officer(*) Masataka Suzuki Executive Officer(*) Tatsuo Nagasaki **Executive Officer** Kazuo Ichikawa **Executive Officer** Shuichi Takayama **Executive Officer** Takashi Tsukaya **Executive Officer** Masao Kuribayashi

Executive Officer

Executive Officer Akinobu Yokoo (New Executive Officer)
Executive Officer Kazuhiro Watanabe (New Executive Officer)
Executive Officer Takashi Saito (New Executive Officer)
Executive Officer Koichi Karaki (New Executive Officer)

Toshiaki Gomi

Note: Asterisk (*) denotes executive directors also serving as directors.