Notification with new appointment of the executive members

Olympus Corporation announced that the Board of Directors decided today its recommendation for new appointments of the executive members. It is scheduled to be decided formally in the General Meeting of Shareholders and the Board of Directors of the holding schedule on June 26, 2009.

1. New Directors

DIRECTOR Shinichi Nishigaki

(Executive Officer

Director, Olympus Medical Systems Corp.)

DIRECTOR Hironobu Kawamata

(Division Manager, Business Support Div.

General Manager, Global Administration Dept.)

2. Retiring Directors

DIRECTOR Masaaki Terada
DIRECTOR Tatsuo Nagasaki

Tatsuo Nagasaki will assume as the Director and Chairman of Olympus Software Technology Corp. on June 3 and the Representative Director and Chairman of Olympus Systems Corporation on June 11.

3. New Executive Officers

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Hironobu Kawamata

(Division Manager, Business Support Div.

General Manager, Global Administration Dept.)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Akira Kubota

(Division Manager, Micro Technology R&D Div.)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Yasuo Takeuchi

(Director, Olympus Europa Holding GmbH)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Nobuyuki Koga

(General Manager, Human Resources Dept.

General Manager, Human Resources Development Center)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Shigeo Hayashi

(Ina Facility)

4. Promoting Executive Officers

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT Masaharu Okubo

(Current Executive Managing Officer)

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT Hideo Yamada

(Current Executive Managing Officer)

Haruhito Morishima

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER Hisashi Mori

(Current Executive Officer)

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER Kazuhiro Wanatabe

(Current Executive Officer)

5. Retiring Executive Officers

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER Masaaki Terada EXECUTIVE OFFICER Tatsuo Nagasaki

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Akinobu Yokoo (retired on May 12)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Yasuhiro Ueda

The new executive members after the close of the general meeting of shareholders will be as follows; (As of June 26, 2009)

<Directors, Corporate Auditors>

DIRECTOR

REPRESENTATIVE DIRECTOR /PRESIDENT Tsuyoshi Kikukawa
DIRECTOR Masaharu Okubo
DIRECTOR Hideo Yamada

DIRECTOR Masataka Suzuki
DIRECTOR Kazuhisa Yanagisawa
DIRECTOR Shuichi Takayama
DIRECTOR Takashi Tsukaya
DIRECTOR Hisashi Mori

DIRECTOR Kazuhiro Wanatabe

DIRECTOR Shinichi Nishigaki (newly-appointed)
DIRECTOR Hironobu Kawamata (newly-appointed)

OUTSIDE DIRECTOR Rikiya Fujita
OUTSIDE DIRECTOR Masanobu Chiba
OUTSIDE DIRECTOR Junichi Hayashi

STANDING CORPORATE AUDITOR Tadao Imai

STANDING CORPORATE AUDITOR

OUTSIDE CORPORATE AUDITOR

OUTSIDE CORPORATE AUDITOR

Yasuo Nakamura

* Jointly serving Directors

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT* Masaharu Okubo (promoted)
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT* Hideo Yamada (promoted)

SENIOR EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Haruhito Morishima
SENIOR EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Masataka Suzuki
EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Kazuhisa Yanagisawa
EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Shuichi Takayama

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Hisashi Mori (promoted)
EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER* Kazuhiro Wanatabe (promoted)

Takashi Tsukaya

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER Toshiaki Gomi

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER*

EXECUTIVE MANAGING OFFICER Masao Kuribayashi EXECUTIVE OFFICER* Shinichi Nishigaki

EXECUTIVE OFFICER* Hironobu Kawamata (newly-appointed)

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Takashi Saito
EXECUTIVE OFFICER Koichi Karaki
EXECUTIVE OFFICER Norio Saito

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Hitoshi Kawada

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Yoshihiko Masakawa EXECUTIVE OFFICER Naohiko Kawamata

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Hiroyuki Sasa

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Masanori Nakashima
EXECUTIVE OFFICER Atsushi Nishikawa

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Yasuo Yoda
EXECUTIVE OFFICER F. Mark Gumz

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Michael C. Woodford

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Yasuo Takeuchi

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Nobuyuki Koga

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Shigeo Hayashi

(newly-appointed)

(newly-appointed)

End of Document