"M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 300mm f4.0 IS PRO" receives
Camera Grand Prix Japan 2016 Lens of the Year Award

May 20, 2016

Camera GP Japan 2016
Lens of the Year

M.Zuiko Digital ED 300mm f4.0 IS PRO

Olympus Corporation (President: Hiroyuki Sasa) is pleased to announce that the M.Zuiko Digital ED 300mm f4.0 IS PRO (35mm equivalent focal length: 600mm), compact, lightweight, high-performance, super-telephoto professional lens has received the Camera Grand Prix Japan 2016 Lens of the Year award by the Camera Journal Press Club (C.J.P.C. / Japan).

Reasons for selection

The judging committee said, "The super-telephoto lens equivalent to a 600mm f/4 lens on a 35mm format features a highly compact design and an image stabilizer with a maximum effect of 6 shutter speed steps to contribute to improve the mobility of a photographer. It also features a high resolving power due to the use of three Super ED lenses, the new nano technology coating Z Coating Nano and a heavy-duty capability of dust-proof, water-resistant and low temperature characteristics best for professional use. It has a closest focusing distance of 1.4 meters (maximum magnification of 0.48X on a 35mm format) for ease of operation and the lens structure and finish are also excellent."

About the Camera Grand Prix Japan

The Camera Grand Prix (started in 1984) is considered one of the widely recognized camera and lens awards. "Camera of the Year" and "Lens of the Year" awards are presented to the best still camera and the best lens introduced on the Japanese market within the past year.
A judging committee is involved, which comprises C.J.P.C. members, editorial directors (or publishers) of C.J.P.C. member publications, external committee members outsourced by the Camera Grand Prix executive committee including academic experts, technical journalists, professional photographers. This year, a total of 60 individuals voted in the selection of the above awards of the Camera GP 2016. Further, "Readers Award" was selected by general readers' votes, and "Editors Award" was selected from among all photography-related equipment, judged by C.J.P.C. members. As the above, at present four award categories are provided for the Camera Grand Prix.

Past Japan Camera Grand Prix Awards for Olympus

1994 Olympus µ Zoom Panorama (Stylus Panorama)
5th Camera Journal Press Club Special Award
1998 Olympus CAMEDIA C-1400L
9th Camera Journal Press Club Special Award
2010 Olympus PEN E-P1
27th Camera Grand Prix 2010 Camera of the Year and Readers' Award
2012 Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 45mm f1.8
29th Camera Grand Prix 2012 Editors Award
2014 Olympus OM-D E-M1
31st Camera Grand Prix 2013 Editors Award
2015 OM-D E-M5 Mark II
32nd Camera Grand Prix 2015 Editors Award
2016 Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 300mm f4.0 IS PRO
33rd Camera Grand Prix 2016 Lens of the Year

Press releases are company announcements that are directed at the news media.
Information posted on this site is current and accurate only at the time of their original publication date, and may now be outdated or inaccurate.
Company names and product names specified are trademarks of their respective owners.